In a briefing on Ethiopia in the UN Security Council yesterday, the representatives of countries expressed their country’s commitment to support the efforts of the Ethiopian government to unite all Ethiopians.

The Deputy Permanent Representative of Russia to the Security Council, Mrs. Anna Evstinva, congratulated all Ethiopians on the formation of a new government on the fourth of October and on the end of the peacefully completed electoral process.

The Ethiopian political forces are ready for an internal dialogue aimed at solving the problems faced by all people of the country – for development, peace and prosperity.

Evstineva confirmed that Russia will continue to support the friendly territorial, sovereignty and independence of Ethiopia.

′′ We welcome the formation of the new government in Ethiopia led by Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed on October 4 and his announcement of an inclusive national dialogue “. the Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations said.

′′ We urge all parties to exercise restraint and support the call of the Ethiopian government to open channels of communication to build confidence among themselves “. he said.

′′ We also welcome the voice of support to the Ethiopian government by African leaders who attended Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed’s swearing ceremony on the fourth of October “. he said.

He stressed that work must begin to restore life to normal in affected areas.

China’s Permanent Representative to the United Nations, Zhang Jun, for his part, said China welcomes the formation of the new government in Ethiopia.
′′ China supports the Ethiopian government in ongoing efforts to unite all Ethiopians, promote political dialogue, collective action to protect national unity and build a brighter future for the country “. he said.

He urged the international community to continue providing assistance to Ethiopia, respecting the sovereignty of the country.


Leave a Reply